Adventures for 2013, Part 2

Decisions, decisions, decisions.

I had thought that my 2013 schedule was completely sorted out.

I knew this much from the outset: I was sticking to half marathons, the whole way. The fall is about as straightforward as you get: two races at home in the city proper, with the third in Hershey, PA, an easy Amtrak ride and drive from the parents’ house at minimal cost. (As a graduate student, race costs are always in the back of my mind, but because I work, I have more flexibility than the traditional full-time student.)
Specifically the Rock n’Roll Half on 15 September, the Hershey Half on 20 October and the Philly Half on 24 November.

Straightforward indeed.

The spring? Not so much. I could be doing one or two races in the spring, and the first of those two races are between two options, both of which are held by lottery.

The Broad Street Run as I’ve said before, and based on last year’s registration experience is going to a lottery system. This race is a 10-miler that is a true Philadelphia experience, and one I am glad to have checked the box off from last year. I was planning to do it again this year if I should be lucky to break through. The race is on the Sunday of finals week for me, 5 May 2013.

However, another race has been brought to my attention, and piqued my interest – my friend Vee on Twitter (@DancinRunnerVee) mentioned the Nike Women’s Marathon, which is opening its first half on the East Coast in DC, 28 April 2012.

To register for this race, it mandates the registration with and use of Nike+ application. It seems like a large interface on recording workouts and connecting with other runners, appearing to connect some of the properties echoed by other apps like Runner’s World’s Smart Coach, RunKeeper, DailyMile, and such. More on that in another post.

The price is definitely a shocker though: $160 for the race fee once you are selected via lottery. As a student I would qualify for the student rate, but even at $125 it is pricey compared to other halfs that I’ve done. Still I’m hearing it’s worth it. The cause behind it is to raise money for leukemia and lymphoma, figuring I wanted to check out the site more, I tried to register although on a small laptop it’s hard to expand the Nike registration inset large enough to be able to register for Nike+.

Vee gave me her group’s code; people can register as part of a group and if the group gets selected in the lottery, the entire group gets in. You either register as an individual or as part of a group but not both.

To top it off, my second half that spring was slated to be during my vacation in June: the San Diego Rock n Roll Half on the 2nd, which runs at the same time as the full. The fee for that is $110, provided I purchase before the end of January at the first price increase. Nearly twice the price of the counterpart in Philly. Crikey. I researched other halfs in the San Diego area and for whatever reason ALL such races in that city just appear to be ridiculously expensive. Even their half in March is priced at $95. Madness.

As far as I know, I do not have any bridal showers or other conflicts that I am aware of. I have one friend’s wedding on the 18th of May, but nothing else I am aware of.

Still a trip to San Diego will allow me to do everything needed: relaxation at La Jolla, visiting historic and cultural parts of the town, enjoy several festivals, the awesome food, visit my college friends now at UCSD and of course, run the RnR Half there. All-you-can-enjoy cause there’s something for everyone.

As for the Nike Women’s Half, still I felt the need to give this one a go: the following spring (2014) would be my capstone semester at school so if I was going to do such a race, this spring would be the semester to do such a race. Not to mention it is in by FAR my most favourite city to race: Washington DC. No ifs, ands, or buts. DC has some challenges to it as I learnt running MCM last year, but still a very fun city to run in and a runner’s city at that. Not to mention there is still a very good chance I could see myself moving and living here at some point in my life as I further my career.

Leaning heavily to running this one. Having looked through pictures of the experience of their full marathon that they run in San Francisco under the same brand and for the same cause, I will throw myself in with Vee’s group and hope for the best. Thanks Vee and here’s hoping we get in!

CORRECTION: It turns out that registering as a student for the Nike Women’s Half in DC guarantees entry. No lottery for me, and I will be skipping Broad Street Run as a result. Problem solved! Looks like it will be DC and San Diego in the spring!

As I stated on Twitter…

TRUTH.

Leave a comment