Freedom Never Felt This Good

3 seated

So, it’s finally over. Graduate school. Commencement itself was probably one of the best days of my life, it felt so liberating to finally be done. Amazingly, the ceremony was quite lighthearted with Bill Cosby, himself a Temple graduate and sitting on the Board of Trustees, cracking jokes through much of the main ceremony.

4 bill cosby jill scott

Pomp and Circumstance itself was playing over and over in my head, so when I finally heard it for real upon our procession, I had to try to not shed a tear. Needless to say, I failed.

1 procession

The orchestra did a bang up job however.

2 orchestra

As I write this, it’s been over two weeks since graduation actually occurred (15 May) but at the same time, the time following graduation has been packed with events (alumni weekend, a friend’s wedding) and a massive catchup list from errands to housework that has long been put off.

Right now the main thing is getting my life back to normal. Planning for vacations, getting a few dating profiles out there, finding new people to meet, reconnecting with old friends, dusting off and polishing the CV, and a few other essential things.

And of course, this would include my fitness routine.

I had taken some time off altogether during the last month prior to graduation but now with school out of the way I started by running once a week. However, my pace during the City Sports runs have suffered greatly and will only further erode with the heat settling in, so now I’m looking at, for now, running short runs of 2-3 times a week with a focus on speed, 2 times minimum weights between core and quads with some emphasis on arms. I have yet to plan any training as my early fall plans are STILL up in the air. My first few runs were extremely sluggish and I hope to improve on all of that sooner rather than later.

All that said, I am relishing the time overall that I have free from school. More rest, and just being able to hit up events in the city without worrying for the most part what time I’ll have to be home or what homework needs to be done. And of course, I’ll be just a bit more active in the running community, with volunteer events over the summer to come.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

