Building Confidence

As I’ve said time and again, I’m restricted to a paltry three races this year, all of them half marathons, mainly because of my terrible class schedule. On the other hand, I’m taking a conservative autumn schedule knowing I will rev up for the Walt Disney World marathon in January 2014, what will be my first vacation in too many years to count. Yes, I’m doing the full to kick off 2014.

This doesn’t mean though that I cannot keep myself in line, that I cannot improve and that I cannot build confidence for each of these three halfs. The halfs are more manageable and I want to prevent the breakdown that occurred last fall so this will be the way to go.

I’m keeping my running to three times a week and weights to twice a week. That should keep things manageable even if and when I do travel for work. To boot, I am pushing myself faster even on my longer runs. Once it gets warmer I’m going to work on hills as there are 4 inclines (apparently) in the Nike Women’s Half, miles 3, 4, 6 and 10.

My body is still struggling with the wind chill and as many people have complained, the winter weather has persisted into the first few days of spring.

And it’s not just here in Philadelphia either.

Recently I got a new running belt so that should help as it is much lighter than all my training belts.

Lately I’ve been picking up more on the tempo runs. I still cannot sprint out and out like I used to when I played football (soccer), but I’m taking it one step at a time. If I can pace up continuously on my longer runs without dehydration threatening – which is very possible on an early crisp April morning – then I should be on track to PR at the Nike Women’s Half marathon.

For a long time, I struggled to push below 10-minute miles, but I am finding myself cruise much faster on the pavement than on the treadmill.

Nike recently distributed their materials for the race, it looks like Nuun hydration beverages – made from their electrolyte tablets – will be the drink on course. More to come on that later as I have never had their product and only recently have I experimented with their product, so far with mixed results.

More to come, and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

