Simple Is as Simple Does

In the grand scheme of things, when it comes to cooking, I’ve learnt to be very inventive and very creative especially considering I’m a vegetarian and don’t have a whole lot of time to myself anymore now that I just started grad school.

Last week, with just a few staples left in my pantry, I decided I’d whip up something on the fly. I had tons – and I mean tons – of boxes of brown rice from a bunch of coupons for free (yes, free) boxes of brown rice, quite a few bags of frozen vegetables and a few cans of tuna fish, plus a package of tofu, and several cans of black beans and chickpeas.

Just needed some protein source over some vegetable and serve it over rice and I was good to go. But I wanted to ensure it tasted half decent otherwise I’d have to force myself to eat it for the next several days.

I improvised – and the results were better than I expected. The recipe as follows:

Ingredients:

7oz brown rice
4oz spinach
2oz Drew’s Romano marinade and dressing
3 tablespoons dill weed
1 teaspoon margarine OR virgin olive oil

10-12oz albacore tuna
OR for those of you that do NOT like fish…
7-9oz garbanzo beans AND
7-9oz red kidney beans (dark preferred over light)

In one pan, I simply took the brown rice and boiled it for 10 minutes. (I do NOT have a rice cooker quite yet.)

Separate saucepan I took all the vegetables and threw them in with a teaspoon of margarine. I mixed in the dill and cayenne as well. If you are using the tuna, throw in the tuna as well, but only AFTER any frozen vegetables are thawed. Also do not put in any of the spices before these things have thawed.

Once the vegetables are heated well, I mixed in the Romano dressing and made sure all components of this mixture were glazed with the dressing.

Meanwhile I drained the rice, fleshed out the water, and then slowly mixed in the rice with the vegetables and the fish. You do NOT need to add any more dressing – this particular kind is a very rich dressing and glazes everything well.

This made 4-5 servings easily and I really enjoyed it. Took me less than 20 minutes to prepare.

Leave a Reply

