Wordled

So one of my friends from university who is a serious hardcore bookworm – he even has his MLS (masters’ in library science) – had a series of so-called wordles of his writings on Facebook. As curiosity would have it, I’d never heard of a “wordle” so I looked it up and hit the main site.

From the main site:

Wordle is a toy for generating “word clouds” from text that you provide. The clouds give greater prominence to words that appear more frequently in the source text. You can tweak your clouds with different fonts, layouts, and color schemes. The images you create with Wordle are yours to use however you like. You can print them out, or save them to the Wordle gallery to share with your friends.

The creator, Jon Feinberg, used code from his employer for the personal project.

I decided to import these blog entries between the beginning and today to see what kind of “wordle” that it would generate. Interestingly, after toying with a number of the fonts and designs after the import, here is my finished product:

Wordle from my blog as of 8 January 2011.

Let’s look at the words that dominate my wordle – or heck, maybe my world at that. Looking at the wordle, some were a given, others made me think:

Run/Running: As this blog revolves mostly around running, it’s no surprise that “running” takes up a lot of space, not to mention “run” having its own space. An ongoing journey I will continue to share with you all.

Family: The single biggest stressor in my life, so no surprise this gets plenty of attention here as well.

Just: This one gets a scratching of the head from me. I am guessing I use this word a bit too much in my vocabulary. Of course I tend to break my life down a lot into segments…”just gotta get through this….just one more day….just five more weeks until my first half marathon…” And speaking of time…

Time: Something that I’m always a bit wired about, I always have a busy schedule and time is something I don’t have a lot of. I expect that will continue to dwindle as grad school gets underway. Throw in talking about my time for races, and there you have it.

Philly/Philadelphia: The city in which I live, and my world is a constant interaction with the hustle and bustle of city life in general (note DC’s appearance in there too)

Marathon/marathon: I think the capital M probably arose from my mentioning different races – Philly Marathon/Marine Corps Marathon, etc, and the latter will be of more prominence as I continue to train for upcoming races.

People: General mentions of people and specific influences (note the appearances of mother, Jeff and Sergio in particular) I can see this one with a little more prominence. Not to mention “people” is a category so I’m sure that helped.

Get/Know/Also: These words stumps me. Probably just use it way too much I guess.

One: I could use the same excuse here but at the same time I do wonder what theme that “one” or “oneness” plays in my blog for me to have used that word so often. I use the word “alone” a lot to describe loneliness, but can’t put my finger on one.

It should also be of note that the wordle generator took words from my blog entries only and not any of my race reports or foodie links, which are all on separate links. If the generator were able to extract from my site in full, I’m thinking this would be looking quite different.

Still a fun thing to tinker with. Wish it could do the same for my Twitter feed.

One thought on “Wordled

Leave a Reply

