With Love, Barbara Kingsolver

Saw this recipe from a friend who posted it on Facebook, who recently made this recipe.  Looking at the core ingredients, this is probably not something I’d make too often as it goes against what I should be eating (I refuse to call it a runner’s diet because a diet is temporary, and I’ve embraced a lifestyle which goes beyond that) as I train for racing, but it’s definitely something I want to make, maybe as a nice congratulatory thing after I’ve crossed the finish line. Damn this looks so good. Thanks Cassy!

http://www.animalvegetablemiracle.com/Zucchini Cookies.pdf

This recipe is NOT my own nor do I claim it as my own. This comes from Barbara Kingsolver and Family’s book titled Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. This is all about a year that the family relies entirely on food they either grow or purchase locally.

ZUCCHINI CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES
(Makes about two dozen)
1 egg, beaten
½ cup butter, softened
½ cup brown sugar
1/3 cup honey
1 tbsp. vanilla extract
Combine in large bowl.
1 cup white flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
¼ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg

Combine in a separate, small bowl and blend into liquid mixture.
1 cup finely shredded zucchini
12 oz chocolate chips

Stir these into other ingredients, mix well. Drop by spoonful onto greased baking sheet, and flatten with the back of a spoon. Bake at 350°, 10 to 15 minutes.

If you try it, tell us how it goes!

Leave a Reply

