Hummus, How I Adore Thee

Most favourite hummus - kidney bean hummus. Made this batch August 2010 🙂

I love hummus. I’ve been a vegetarian for three years and hummus has become a key go-to snack for an on-the-go person like myself. I could go for any flavour of hummus, black bean, red bean, plain Jane, you name it. Unfortunately, like most other food products in downtown Philadelphia, it costs way too much. It could be at a corner shop, at Trader Joe’s on 22nd, at the Whole Foods on 10th/South Streets, or the Superfresh on South Street – all obscenely expensive. $3 or more for a small container…and most often times they were so bland.

So looking at my trusty Cuisinart food processor, I decided one day I’d get to work…

Red Bean Spicy Hummus

1 can of garbanzo beans (15-16 oz)

1 can red kidney beans (preferably dark, 15-16 oz)

4 tablespoons virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons tahini paste

1 cup garbanzo bean juice from the original can

A few grams/dashes of dill weed and ground cayenne pepper

Now I understand some people prefer to soak their beans overnight and I’ll admit this is a bit cheaper and more economical. I am a bit busy for that I’ll admit and canned beans here aren’t too bad a price. A caution about soaking red kidney beans though: if not properly cooked and soaked, they can release a nasty toxin that is extremely harmful to people that lack an enzyme to digest beans properly. For that reason I go with the canned version for red beans no matter what.

That said, I drain the garbanzo liquid into a separate cup, rinse both sets of beans in water, throw them in, throw the other ingredients in. Make sure your tahini is properly mixed before you put that in the processor.

A dash of salt is optional, but I prefer personally to leave it out.

Close your processor, and let ‘er rip for 5 minutes. And voila! A killer batch of hummus that should be good for 2-3 days, with the dill and cayenne giving quite a bit of zing for flavour! Enjoy!

For black bean hummus, I simply repeat the same recipe above, just substitute black beans for the red kidney beans. All other ingredients stay the same!

Leave a Reply

